pricing

Character.AI Pricing 2026: Is c.ai+ Worth It?

Character.AI pricing as of October 2026: free vs (c.ai) lite at $4.99 vs c.ai+ at $9.99 a month, what each plan includes, and who should pay or skip.

Character.AI is free to use, and its main paid plan, c.ai+, costs $9.99 a month or $94.99 a year in the US as of 7 October 2026. Since 28 September there is also a cheaper (c.ai) lite plan at $4.99 a month. c.ai+ is worth it if you chat daily and the ads, slow mode and swipe limits bother you; it does not change the filter, the age rules or how far back a character can remember.

Character.AI pricing at a glance (and a disclosure)

Character.AI has three plans as of 7 October 2026. US prices below come from Character.AI’s own announcement and the US App Store listing; the company says pricing varies by region, so the number in your app may differ.

PlanUS priceWho it is built for
Free$0Casual chat with the full character library
(c.ai) lite$4.99/month or $2.49/weekRegular users who want some premium replies and fewer ads
c.ai+$9.99/month or $94.99/yearDaily users who want no ads, no slow mode and unlimited premium models

The yearly c.ai+ plan works out to about $7.92 a month, roughly 20% less than paying monthly. Character.AI has also run promotions: a summer sale offered three months for $14.99 or the first year for $59.99. We could not confirm whether either is still live, so check the subscribe screen before you pay. There is no published free trial.

A disclosure: we make Euphoria: AI Choices, a free iOS and Android app for AI interactive stories, so we compete with Character.AI for the same evenings. It is a different kind of product. Character.AI is a chat: you and a character trade messages one at a time. In Euphoria every scene is illustrated, with your own character and outfits drawn into it; stories run across multiple chapters with a coherent plot and memory that carries from one chapter to the next; and you type any action in free text.

Free vs lite vs c.ai+: what you actually get

The free plan still gives you unlimited messages on the standard chat styles. What the paid plans buy is the premium models, fewer interruptions and more memory tools.

Free(c.ai) litec.ai+
Standard chat (PipSqueak 3, ShortSqueak)UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Premium styles (DeepSqueak, LongSqueak)LimitedDaily allowance (unpublished)Unlimited
AdsFull-screen mid-chat ads, plus banners on webNo banners, fewer full-screen adsNone
Slow mode at busy timesYesLessNone
Swipes and Go OnDaily cap, extras via CharmsNot specifiedUnlimited
Memory pins per chat153030
Facts, full Memory Usage viewNoMemory Usage barYes
Voice callsLimitedNot specifiedUnlimited
Charms bonusNoNo20% extra on Charm packs

Pin counts and the Charms bonus are from September 2026 third-party guides; Character.AI’s own May 2026 post says c.ai+ gets “twice as many pins” without giving numbers.

Charms are Character.AI’s in-app currency. You earn them through daily tasks or buy them; on the US App Store packs run from $0.99 to $49.99. One guide lists 35 extra swipes at 175 Charms, 110 at 495 and 250 at 1,000. Character.AI has never published the free swipe cap, so treat any exact figure you read online, including the widely repeated 400 a day, as unconfirmed.

What changed in 2026

The c.ai+ sticker price has not moved, but the free plan has changed a lot this year.

  • February to April: full-screen mid-chat ads rolled out to free users, reaching everyone by 15 April. The same day, banner ads arrived on the website, which had been the quiet way to avoid app ads.
  • 18 March: daily limits on swipes and Go On, with extra uses sold through Charms.
  • 21 May: the Memory update. Story Memory and pinning are free for everyone; Facts, the full Memory Usage view and double the pins are c.ai+ only. We cover how to use these in how to get an AI to remember your story.
  • 28 September: (c.ai) lite launched, alongside two new free chat styles, PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak. Character.AI describes PipSqueak 3 as smarter and better at keeping track of a chat, which, on paper, makes the free tier stronger.

Is c.ai+ worth it?

Yes, for daily users who mostly feel the friction; no, for everyone else. At $9.99 a month, c.ai+ removes every ad, removes slow mode, lifts the swipe and Go On caps, and gives unlimited access to DeepSqueak and LongSqueak. If you open the app every evening and regenerate replies until one lands, those changes add up, and the yearly plan brings the cost under $8 a month.

What it does not buy matters as much. The character library is the same on every plan. The filter is the same: no tier unlocks adult content or skips age checks, and since 25 November 2025 users under 18 cannot use open-ended chat on any plan. And memory improves at the edges, with double the pins and Facts, but one September guide notes that even c.ai+ memory does not match memory-first apps. If your complaint is that characters forget your plot, paying helps less than you might hope; our OOC guide explains the recap technique that helps on any plan.

Two practical notes. Several c.ai+ perks have been reported as app-only, with web users missing some features. And refunds depend on where you paid: one guide reports no refunds for web purchases, while App Store and Google Play purchases follow those stores’ policies.

Is (c.ai) lite a better deal?

Only if you pay monthly and want a taste of the premium models. At $4.99 a month it is half the price of c.ai+, removes banner ads and adds the 30 pins. But it still shows full-screen ads, just fewer, and Character.AI has not published how many premium messages you get per day. Early user reports range from about 5 to about 30.

Avoid the weekly option. At $2.49 a week it comes to about $10.78 a month, more than c.ai+ itself. If ads are your main complaint, lite does not solve it and c.ai+ does.

Who should pay, and who should skip

Pay for c.ai+ if:

  • You use Character.AI most days and the ads or slow mode interrupt you.
  • You swipe a lot and keep running into the daily cap.
  • You want DeepSqueak or LongSqueak without a daily limit.
  • You use voice calls regularly.
  • You will stay a year; the annual plan is the better price.

Consider lite if: you chat several times a week, pay monthly, and only want a few premium replies a day.

Skip paying if:

  • You chat a few times a week. The free plan covers you, and PipSqueak 3 is free.
  • You want mature content. No plan changes the filter.
  • You are under 18. Open-ended chat is closed to you whatever you pay.
  • Your real problem is memory over a long story. The extra pins help, but they do not turn a chat into a plot. Our Character.AI review goes deeper on where the platform strains.

If you are weighing c.ai+ against another subscription, Talkie+ costs the same $9.99 a month; we compare them in Talkie vs Character.AI. For apps that solve a different problem, see Character.AI alternatives.

The bottom line

c.ai+ is a fair price for removing friction from a product you already use every day. It is not a better product, and it is not a fix for memory or filters. If you came to Character.AI wanting a story rather than a conversation, the difference between a chat and a story app, which we explain in AI story apps vs AI chat apps, will matter more than any of the prices above. That is the gap Euphoria is built for: illustrated scenes with your own character in them, and chapters that remember what you did.

Prices on this page are as of 7 October 2026. Character.AI changes its plans often, so if the store shows something different, the store is right.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Character.AI cost?

Character.AI is free. c.ai+ costs $9.99 a month or $94.99 a year in the US, and (c.ai) lite, launched on 28 September 2026, costs $4.99 a month or $2.49 a week. Prices vary by region, so check the subscribe screen or your app store before paying.

Is c.ai+ worth it?

For daily users, usually yes: it removes all ads and slow mode, lifts the swipe and Go On caps, and unlocks DeepSqueak and LongSqueak without limits. For casual users, no. It does not change the filter, the under-18 rules or the character library.

What is the difference between (c.ai) lite and c.ai+?

Lite, at $4.99 a month, gives a daily allowance of premium-model messages, no banner ads, fewer full-screen ads and extra memory pins. c.ai+, at $9.99 a month, makes premium models unlimited and removes all ads and slow mode. Character.AI has not published lite's daily allowance.

Is Character.AI free to use?

Yes. The free plan includes unlimited messages on the standard chat styles, including the new PipSqueak 3, and the full character library. Since early 2026 it shows full-screen ads mid-chat, caps daily swipes and Go On, and can slow down at busy times.

Does c.ai+ remove the filter?

No. The filter applies on every plan, and no subscription unlocks adult content or bypasses age assurance. Since 25 November 2025, users under 18 cannot use open-ended chat on any plan; they keep formats such as Stories.

Is there a c.ai+ free trial or discount?

There is no published free trial. The yearly plan at $94.99 works out to about $7.92 a month. A 2026 summer sale offered three months for $14.99 or the first year for $59.99; check the subscribe screen for whatever offer is current.

Sources